Day 3: Cleeve Hill to Birdlip

Weather:   Cool and sunny with a gentle breeze
Distance   covered today: 25.5km ( 15.9 mi)
Last night’s   B&B: Cleeve Hill House Hotel (£60)
% Complete:   40.7%
GPS satellite   track of today’s route: Day3 (click)

 

I thought that today might not yield much.  From the route, I knew that we would be constantly in the lovely rolling hills and craggy cliffs of the upper Cotswold Way, very definitely away from the architectural magic of the last couple of days. I also thought that having my daughter, Anna with us might constrain the conversation and present its own problems. I thought that maybe today would be a polite interlude, with introspection being the favoured mode of behaviour. I’m clearly not good at predicting these things.

We did indeed have an early pipe opener as we scaled Cleeve Hill and I was roundly abused, with no justification, for taking the walking party straight up the hill to the top, ignoring the gentler slopes that would have achieved the objective but at a lower heart rate. I claimed that I had experience in these things and was criticised by all. I began to realise that there was developing an unholy alliance between John and Anna in which I was the enemy and the obvious target, and I might well have to protect myself from their double-barrelled assault. Fortunately, Yasmin is just never drawn into these jousts and, as the only mature adult amongst us, could be relied upon to keep the rational calm.

We were embarked on by far the longest leg of the trip so far, and the others were understandably apprehensive, none more so than Anna who was concerned that she might not make it to the end at all. She is exhausted after a hard week of work, with all sorts of short-term issues and a horrible head-ache.   I was hugely complimented that she had made the effort at all. Though if she and John were going to join forces to attack her father, perhaps I would have to review her inheritance!

As it turned out, our walk was peaceful and relaxing in the warm sunshine.  Without trying we swapped walking partners all day and the company was friendly and stimulating and the countryside varied between stunning views down the escarpment (with endless views of Cheltenham as we seemed to circle it for ages), interspersed with relaxed ventures through the woods. Everywhere there were flowers and butterflies. And also those strange kamikaze black insects from last year that have eyes only for each other and may well fly into your mouth if you don’t close it!

The real interest of the day lay in the conversation over dinner tonight. John and Anna launched forth into a spirited discussion of their business experience. I found myself being infinitely proud of both of them. In many ways they have been forged on the same anvil. John had much to say to Anna that may be useful in her business career, and I felt that he was impressed at how much she understood about the dark arts of management. All the while, when each of them went too far, Yasmin was on hand to drag them back to reality with an understanding but very firm hand. In the end, I had nothing to add, and I left, secure in the knowledge that my eldest daughter knows her mind and can hold her views to even the most searing scrutiny.  No doubt, I have not heard the last of it from John.

Anna leaves us tomorrow morning and no doubt the psychoanalysis will then commence. If there are any failings, I am sure they will be traced back to me!  I am forewarned!

Image

All of us on Cleeve Hill, the highest point of the Cotswold Way

Image

The crags on the edge of the escarpment with cheltenham below

Image

John in yet another phographer pose!

Image

What is this?

Image

A baby lamb rushed over to Anna, presumably looking for a feed rather than recognising maternal instincts

Image

That is a vertical path ahead, and Anna seems happy about it! I wasn’t!

Image

The fingernails of the non-fingernail biting Anna, displyed proudly top her Dad, who was mightily impressed! Especially under the circumstances!

Image

The three of them on a bench above Cheltenham

Image

The Devil’s Chimney! An outcrop from mining times…

Image

What is this?

Image

I always wondered where GCHQ was!

Interesting

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 3: Cleeve Hill to Birdlip

  1. Phyllis Duxbury says:

    Nice to see Anna could join you…those are mighty nice fingernails; I don’t believe you photographed anything quite that on your LEJOG, Kevin! Today’s lamb has got to be the very cutest one in all of Britain!
    I’ll take a guess about the flowers: I have the purple one in my garden and call it “Dame’s Rocket”; not so sure about the yellow one. Maybe “Yellow Rattle” or maybe “woundwort” ??? Perhaps the Garden Impressionist will say.
    The Cleeve Hill pictures are lovely; I believe that was the very first hill I climbed in the U.K.
    Cheers,
    Phyllis

  2. Indeed we can Phyllis, it’s kidney vetch, a brilliant wild flower we grow as it’s loved by many insects. Mind you it’s a bit like our children (and should I say it?? our other halves) it goes where it wants when it wants and completely ignores the wishes of the gardener. However it always seems to choose the right place to thrive in the end so we let it get on with it!
    So glad Anna could join you all Kevin, wish her well in the new job.
    Love Fiona

  3. KTB……. Sorry to create a stir on the comments page, and I hesitate to disagree with Phyllis……… but I would like to suggest an alternative ID for the pinky purple flower….as Honesty (Honestly!) Lunaria annua. Like Dame’s Rocket its in the Cruciferae family so they both have similar flower shapes and clusters. With us in the garden Honesty is still flowering but the Dame’s Rocket is usually a bit later. I think the clincher might be in the leaf shape, which is long and narrow with Dame’s Rocket , and much broader with the Honesty (Honestly). But also after nipping out into the garden this morning in search of rabbits ( with some success at last!)… I brought in a flower cluster of our white form of Honesty, and if you look just below the central large clusters of flowers above, you can see a single vertically hanging forming pale green oval/circular honesty seed pod with a shorter residual paler green linear style attached to its base…which is just like the ones we have on our Honesty now. The Dame’s Rocket seedpods in contrast,are thin cylindrical, long and linear, like many edible brassicas. Now everyone’s gone back to bed in boredom, on a sunny Sunday morning…….. BUT another 2 of your nine wild plants notched up Kevin, so only 3 to go!
    Julian

  4. Rinka says:

    The little lamb was probably one of triplets/orphaned/a weak lamb, at birth. The famer takes these off the ewe to hand feed(returned to the ewe in between feeds) until they are strong enough to cope unaided. Hence they are initially very tame and come running to humans, very sweet. The number in blue dye links the lamb to that painted onto the fleece of it’s Mum.
    The reddish purple flower might be (a rare garden escapee) Honesty. In my garden I allow it to grow in a limited way for it flourishes, seeds prolfically, flowers every 2nd year. The trick is to combine it with Honesty which is flowering the alternate year! They have lovely seed packets in the Autumn, shaped like white translucent pennies (possibly accounts for their name?!).
    Kevin, you’re dead lucky Marion wasn’t able to come too or you’d have had the 3 of them to contend with!

  5. Andy says:

    I haven’t any idea what the flowers are called and bow to superior wisdom of all on this point but they are very pretty! Anna looking great – clearly thriving on the challenges even if tiring. Wonderful views from the hills – hope you have equally good weather for the big climb up Birdlip. Love Andy

  6. Phyllis Duxbury says:

    I knew Julian and Fiona (and Rinka) would come through!! I’ve looked them up, and sure enough, that pink/purple flower is Honesty. Now I realize my Dad used to grow them for those lovely pods, and of course he called them.. “money plants”. How could I have forgotten that! Your info also confirms my own plants are indeed Dame’s Rocket.

    See how well your blog promotes “continuing education”, Kevin?!
    Best of luck for more “continuing” fair weather.
    Phyllis

  7. Barbara Holtmann says:

    Inspired, I extended my morning walk today to circumscribe the zoo – and spotted a leopard through the fence!

  8. I like getting the bus from Cheltenham to Burdlip and then walking back and looking at the beautiful views. I then love staying in one of Cheltenham Hotels for a relaxing weekend away shopping and walking.

Leave a comment