The Next Challenge

Last year I completed the walk from Land’s End to John O’Groats, a marathon that took the best part of four months, including rest days. It ignited in me a real affection for walking in the glorious English countryside. I also learned a few lessons that to almost all observers will have seemed completely obvious from the start!

Firstly, LEJOG was a marathon!  Maybe shorter walks are more sustainable, especially if my marriage is to survive! Secondly, despite all my prior protestations, the weather turns out to be an important factor in the enjoyment of the walk. I was phenomenally lucky on LEJOG. I walked through the driest April on record and we have now just experienced the wettest April in recorded history. Even if that continues into May, at least the pain of it will be of short duration! The one hundred mile walk should take us no more than a week. Thirdly, the walking is much more enjoyable if someone else carries your pack, so I have engaged the services of SherpaVan to assist in this regard and my shoulders are already thanking me in anticipation. Fourthly, I have decided that for all its other virtues, Blogger is less user-friendly than WordPress, especially for those who choose to comment on my progress so that I have decided this is an appropriate time to migrate. And finally, I am delighted to welcome John and Yasmin who have agreed to join me on this trip, though time will tell whether they will regard this as an act of insanity or otherwise…..

Additionally, despite the short duration of this adventure, our daily distances will be for me at least, a serious challenge….  Especially after a few months of relative slothfulness!

During LEJOG, the sheer emotional demand of the journey meant that many of my posts were, depending on your point of view, self-indulgent and introverted verbosity, and less of a travelogue than a diary. I hope to learn from that, though I can’t guarantee it. At this juncture, its hard to tell whether sinking the odd glass of red with John and Yasmin will open or close the floodgates. Time will tell.

Meanwhile if any unfortunate traveller has just happened on this blog and would like to have a look at the LEJOG site on Blogger, the url is http://corrigendus.blogspot.co.uk/2011/04/day-0-penzance.html

As always, your comments are enthusiastically encouraged. Your company is most welcome!

A sample shot from LEJOG just to test how the media uploading works

This entry was posted in Walks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Next Challenge

  1. Phyllis Duxbury says:

    Have a wonderful walk, Kevin.
    I wish I could be there, but by following your blog instead, I’m going to enjoy it without having to pack Compeed!!

    Cheers,
    Phyllis D

  2. John Flawith says:

    Having survived 3 days with Kevin on the Herefordshire part of his LeJog last year, I was game for a longer trial this year, having put in a vast exercise programme in the White Mountains of Crete! But to dilute my intensity, or maybe Kevin’s, I have brought Yasmin with me this time – she will keep us both sorted out I’m sure (and keep score!). She may also remember some of the topics of conversation from the late night sessions we are sure to have… Looking forward to it, and to reading the blog in vivo, so to say. John

    • corrigendus says:

      And there I was, fully intending to be early to bed, living like a monk. Now it appears I am once more falling amongst a thief. Still, with some really lengthy stints planned for this trail, I will have to set an example….

  3. Nadja says:

    Hi there
    did you use any kind of guidebook? My husband and I are planning on doing this walk in 3 months and we only have a guidebook with some maps (included in the book). I was wondering if this would be enough? Any advice on what you think you would have done things differently?
    thank you!

    • corrigendus says:

      Hi Nadja,
      I used the guidebook by Anthony Burton which does have Ordnance Survey maps inside. I do think it is important also to have the proper Ordnance Survey maps (1:25,000) with you and to be able to use a compass. Although the trail is well waymarked, it is quite possible to get lost, and you need to be able to locate yourself and find a route back to the trail. The OS Explorer (1:25,000) maps that cover the walk are OL45,155,167,168,179 and I suggest you buy all of them!

  4. Phyllis Duxbury says:

    Kevin!! The posting from Nadja came through with the subject line: “The Next Challenge”…and my heart skipped a beat!!!
    Then, I realized the reference was to your past walk (nonetheless quite glorious) on the Cotswold Way!! Here I was, for a moment, led to think you are already planning another so soon after C2C!

    Hmmm, maybe you are!
    Lots of love,
    Phyllis

Leave a comment